Skip to content
March 19, 2007 / missknowitall

I Fought the Food and the Food Won

Dear Little Miss,
I have been on this diet for 3 months and have lost quite a bit of weight.  I have hit a rut I am finding myself sneaking food and then feeling like a pig afterwords and hating myself. Sometimes I cry myself to sleep.  My question is, how can I get back to business?  I have another 30 lbs to go and I have 4 months to loose it before this wedding I am in. I need all the advice I can get.

Dear Sneaking and Crying,

You should congratulate yourself on the weight you have already lost!  Now, you have hit a “rut”, plateau, are slowing down, have lost that first fire of determination, right?  Well, don’t beat yourself up about it, it happens to EVERYONE when trying to create a new lifestyle of eating.  When this happens you need to pretend you are starting all over again.  Try something new, or reread whatever book or program it was that had you on fire to begin with.  Re-stoke that dying fire of determination and personal excitement.  Now, let’s talk about the sneaking food and the crying yourself to sleep business.  First off, you shouldn’t be keeping things around the house that will tempt you.  If you were trying to quit drinking you wouldn’t keep the bar stocked, would you?  If there are others in the house who want to keep tempting snacks around then you need to ask them for their support in this.  Ask if they can lock up, hide, or just stop bringing home things that you are trying to avoid right now.  And to take care of the items that are currently in your house, car, desk at work, or wherever, it is time to show them who is boss.  You have been letting these items control you and any one’s self esteem will start to falter if they feel they are weaker than a little chocolate bar or a lifeless slice of cheesecake.  Don’t try to fight the cheesecake at that vulnerable moment when you have fork in hand and are opening the fridge because as soon as that fork is in your hand you have already surrendered.  Don’t let the ice cream pick the time and day of battle.  I want you to go look in the mirror, tell yourself that you deserve to love yourself, that you are strong enough to take care of your body, that you are stronger than the food.  Now, I want you to go find all the yummy, tempting foods that have been giving you problems.  I want you to take them over to the garbage disposal.  I want you to take each item and tell it, “I am stronger than you, I decide when and what I eat, I will not give in to you anymore!”.  As you say this to the food, I want you to be putting the food in the garbage disposal with the water running over it.  If you don’t have a garbage disposal then dump all the food in your outside garbage can.  This will be your act of liberation.  It may make you queasy to “waste” food like this, but better for it to be wasted in the garbage than wasted on your body.  Now that the food has been demolished you need to maintain this power over the food.  If you suddenly find you have a cookie in your mouth and it isn’t supposed to be there, don’t beat yourself up, get up and spit it in the garbage disposal and throw the rest in the garbage.  It is o.k. to have desserts just as long as you are the one choosing to have the dessert and not the other way around.  

Reclaim that power to love yourself again!

Miss Knowitall

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Two Witches / Mar 19 2007 8:01 am

    LOL great post ! 🙂 I can definitely relate to the “food winning” sometimes! (60 lbs lost so far with Incredible Shrinking Ladies blog

  2. Helen Burton / Mar 19 2007 1:01 pm

    I agree with you to get the food out of the house, office,etc. For over 8 years I have not brought anything in the house that was not on my eating plan and have maintained my weight. If you get a chance take a look at my blog http://www.theloveyourselfcoach.blogspot.com and see the articles I have written.

  3. Same here! / Mar 21 2007 12:52 pm

    One way I know my husband loves me is that he’ll hide the treats when I ask. Ü If I really, really want a treat, I have to wait until he gets home and then wait until after dinner. If I still really want it, he’ll go get me a part of it. That helps me not snack on those things throughout the day. It’s been a good system for me!

  4. Test / Mar 30 2007 1:17 am

    Hi all!

    Bye

Leave a Reply

