Skip to content
March 29, 2007 / missknowitall

Pet Envy

I am all out of questions to answer, and I’m too tired tonight to make one up.  I thought, instead, that it might be fun to get you all involved here, and see what you have to say about things.  So, today I am going to ask YOU the question and you all need to answer it in the “comment” box.  Here goes:

Dear Readers,

I am a healthy, active mother of four bright and lively children.  I have been married to my wonderful husband for almost 10 years.  While my husband and I have always supported each other and we hardly ever disagree, there is one point on which we cannot see eye to eye.  I believe that part of being a child is having pets.  I always had at least one pet, sometimes 4 or more, while I was growing up and I want my children to have the same experiences and responsibilities that I had.  My husband LOVES animals and will play with them and snuggle them, but he refuses to own any pets.  I have been tempted to just go out and get one but I know without a doubt that it would cause some big problems in our marriage if I did that.  Is there any way that I can get my husband to buy me and our children a pet?

Signed, Pet Envy 

Good Morning,

Ok, I had some rest and I’m feeling better.  I’ve thought about this problem of mine and I think I have some advice for myself.  Don’t think I don’t want to hear your answers, though.  Leave your advice for me in the comment box and help me out with this one.

 Dear Pet Envy,

It sounds like you are a reasonable, responsible, caring person.  While these are all good traits to posses, I think they are the very things that are keeping you from getting a pet.  I think that every time you mention getting a pet to your husband he manages to talk you out of it with sound and reasonable arguments.  For that reason I’m going to have to tell you that I believe you are absolutely incapable of ever convincing your husband to get you a pet.  BUT, I’m not saying you should give up.  I think you need to let someone else do the arguing here.  Set up dinner dates with friends who have just bought a new pet, or who’ve just had a litter of kittens.  Take the whole family and let them fall in love with the cute animals.  Volunteer at animal shelters with your children.  Help out at farms where you will come into contact with all sorts of animals.  The more you surround your family with animals the more they will want them and the more they will fight for them.  Let your children fight for their right to have a pet.  Then it won’t be an issue between you and your husband and he won’t be able to use his reason and his intellect.  I personally would like to be there when he tries to use reason on a little boy who is desperately holding on to a mangy dog as if his future manhood depended on bringing it home.  If that doesn’t work you could always bring home a pet and feed it outside.  When your husband asks where it came from just shrug your shoulders and say “I don’t know, it just showed up at our door and I can’t get it to go away.  I can’t get the kids to calm down about it.  They have even named the poor creature”.  If this doesn’t work, then I’m afraid you are out of luck and will have to be content with going to the petting zoo on weekends.

Pettingly yours,

Miss Knowitall

Oooo, I just thought of an even better idea:

Get HIS mother to buy your kids a pet for Christmas or a birthday.  Then let them duke it out.  Hmmmmm…

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. anordinarymom / Mar 29 2007 12:19 pm

    Have you asked him why he doesn’t want a pet? I would be curious to know what I am up against.

    My parents always said they were never big pet people, but I can’t tell you how often I find them secretly sneaking pets to the cats.

    Our first cat came along when my oldest sister dragged it home. Since then we have always had a pet, mostly several cats. However, when I was home we also experienced lizards, and a dog.

    Good luck!

  2. Mom / Apr 1 2007 5:46 pm

    My husband was a pet person, so we always had pets. But after he died, and I still had 5 kids at home, I was determined to not have anymore pets. (I still had a cat that I was hoping would die any day). My reasons? I had enough “kids” and a pet was like having another kid. I know, because I was always raising pets along with the kids. I also hated the mess (cat hair, dog hair, potty mishaps, cats digging the carpets up), plus I still had the responsibility of them even though the kids vowed they’d take care of them (right!)
    Well, the cat did finally die, but I’ve still managed to have constant animals because of stray animals and “Oh, mom, he looked so cute in that cardboard box outside of Walmart!” (I hate it when that happens!)
    I think you hit the nail on the head when you said to just let it happen through the kids. I still can’t stand the mess and responsibility, but I love the joy these animals bring to our lives.
    After all – this house is for raising kids and so I say “let the mess happen”. Kids really do need pets – the responsibility (though it wanes real fast) is good for them.

  3. Also not a pet person / Apr 4 2007 9:46 pm

    I’m with your husband in not being a “pet person.” My reason is they are smelly, gross, hairy, etc. Ü But perhaps as a compromise, the pets could be outdoor only pets-and your husband could be free of all responsibility to them. (except providing for their monetary needs like food)

Leave a Reply

