Skip to content
March 30, 2007 / missknowitall

Unwanted Acne Advice

Dea Little Miss,

I am in my early 20’s and have been suffering from severe acne for the past 3 years.  I am being treated by a dermatologist now and I know that even with treatment it is going to take some time for this to clear up or to at least go down a little.  The problem I am having now, besides expected self esteem issues, is people who feel they need to give me advice or “tips” on how to treat my acne.  Every one of my extended family, friends of my parents, people at church, even some of my friends have offered me advice.  I have heard everything from “don’t kiss girls”, to “rub a babies freshly peed in diaper on your face”.  Having this acne is bad enough, how do I get people to understand that their “good intentions” just make it worse?

Signed Pizza Face

Dear Mr. Handsome,

I’m sorry to hear about your situation.  I have battled acne myself since I was 9 and have realized that it will always be an issue for me, so I feel your pain.  Many people have sudden cases of severe acne and after treatment it goes away, so keep up the faith.  As for all those “good intendors”, I agree that while the intentions are good, they probably have no idea what kind of pain they are causing you with their “advice”.  One way to stop them before they even begin is to make your self a t-shirt that says NO ADVICE NEEDED, or THANKS FOR THE ADVICE, BUT I’VE HEARD IT ALL BEFORE (I think I could make a bundle selling these t-shirts).  People will get the idea.  When you can’t get away with wearing one of these awesome t-shirts you may have to suffer the advice but you can also have some fun with it.  When someone tells you of a new remedy for acne just say, “Acne, what acne?”, or “Did it get rid of your acne? “.  Or you can say, “Really?  Well I heard that Oprah said that that remedy actually causes your hair to fall out”.  You are also allowed to stop someone before they even finish their sentence with, “Oh, enough about me.  Let’s talk about you”.  If you have a person who just doesn’t get any of these hints and they insist on causing you this pain, maybe you should return the favor and give them advice on how to fix their bad breath or their bad hair-do (No, no, no, don’t do that.  Lets all be nice to each other). 

Good-intendingly yours,

Miss Knowitall 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lydia / Mar 30 2007 6:38 pm

    That is definitely the most annoying thing EVER. I like your last bit of advice, “enough about me, let’s talk about you” which you could follow on nicely up by giving diet and exercise or even deoderant advice.

  2. Len / May 14 2007 3:41 pm

    Some good info always interesting to see what other sites have to say about acne. If you would like to see some other great articles on acne conditions and cures and remedies click on my name.

  3. Rudy / May 16 2007 3:32 pm

    Beauty comes from the inside!

  4. Greatest of Health / Jun 19 2007 8:36 pm

    Good advice. Watch your diet, drink plenty of water and get fresh air. This simple method helped me a great deal.

Leave a Reply

