Skip to content
April 10, 2007 / missknowitall

Express Yourself!

Dear Little Miss,

Hi!  I am 16 (almost 17) and I think I am fairly mature for my age.  I don’t get into trouble, I’ve kept up my grades, I even clean my room now and then.  My problem is that I really want a tattoo and my parents do not want me to have one.  I want to do this as responsibly as I can.  I have saved up the money for it, I have thought long and hard about what I want and where I want it (I want to be able to hide it when I go to work).  My parents say that they will not give me their permission so that I will have to wait until I am 18 to have it done legally.  I know a lot of kids who get it done before 18 without parental consent and I am tempted to do this myself, but I don’t want to make my parents angry.  Please help me know what to do.

Dear Making Your Mark,

If everyone put as much thought into their tattoos as you have there would be a lot less regret in the world.  I’m glad to hear that you aren’t going to have your boyfriend’s name, “Bubba”, permanently etched across your knuckles and I am happy to hear that you have parents who are willing to teach you to obey laws regarding age requirements.  You sound so sure about this and it sounds so important to you that I feel it would be worth waiting for; and if it is worth breaking laws, and jeopordizing your parents hard won trust, then it really should be worth the wait.  It would even add to the drama and importance of the tattoo if you could say that you waited for it (and really, a year and a half isn’t totally impossible).  For now, have fun wearing different fake tattoos in that special spot so you can get used to having a mark there, you may change your mind as to the location after a time.  Save up more money, you may be surprised to find that at 18 your wants have changed and you want your money to go towards other things (don’t forget, tattoos often need touch-ups so you actually end up paying for the tattoo about 4 times and that gets spendy).  Also, when your future children tell you that they want a tattoo you can tell them your story and make them wait till they are 18 too =).  

 Remember, you can’t quit, dump, divorce, remove, hide from, move away from, or lose a tattoo.  The way you want to express yourself may change through the years, so, ultimately, I suggest you choose changeable ways to express yourself, at least for now anyway.     

Permanently yours.

Missknowitall 

Leave a Reply

