Skip to content
April 26, 2007 / missknowitall

Waiting For Diagnosis

Dear Little Miss,
I just found out that I have a pretty big mass in my pelvic/hip area. I am going to go crazy till I find out what it is. Can you please help me figure out what to do in the mean time? Thank you!

Going Crazy!

Dear Going Crazy,

The worry and the wait can be absolute torture, can’t they?  At times when my imagination wants to act up I remind myself of one of my favorite sayings:  “Hope for the best, prepare for the worst”.  I think you should put this saying into action by doing two things.

1.  Prepare.  If you end up getting some bad news you are not going to want to deal with pesky daily chores.  So, take advantage of this waiting time to put things in order in case you need your mind and time free to deal with more serious things.  Get caught up on laundry, make some dinners to put in the freezer, make and update a list of people you will want to contact if this is something serious (if it isn’t then you can save the list for Christmas cards).  This will also help you stay busy and help the waiting go faster.

2.  Hope for the best.  Go out and celebrate life.  Many people who become terminally ill rush to enjoy what life they have left.  Too many others find out that their condition is benign and so they go back to daily routines and never take advantage of that “new lease on life”.  Don’t wait to be told you have a limited time left.  Get out of the house, have some fun with those you love, and smile a lot before you have cause to really worry.

Hoping for the best,

Miss Knowitall

Leave a Reply

